Established in 2000, the PVWRC is a non-profit 501 (c) (3) organization and is affiliated with the Road Runners Club of America.

PVWRC members at the Coldest Day 5K fundraiser for the Springfield Rescue Mission


The mission of the PVWRC is to support women walkers and runners, by serving as a resource for race information, training partners, and topics of interest to members.

The Club strives to be a good community citizen, highlighting local organizations, races supporting charitable causes, and providing scholarship assistance to high school seniors going on to college.


The PVWRC offers a $1,000 scholarship for college-bound female high school athlete.


Scholarships have been awarded annually as follows:

  • 2018 – Amanda Adams, Hampshire Regional High School and Amy O’Sullivan, Greenfield High School
  • 2017 – Haley Sullivan, Easthampton High School
  • 2016 – Madeleine Hamparian, Belchertown High School
  • 2015 – Lindsay Wassung, Agawam High School, and Allison Haryasz, Longmeadow High School
  • 2014 – Kim McCarthy, Ludlow High School
  • 2013 – Diamonte’ Spencer, Central High School, and Sara Vanna, Amherst Regional High School
  • 2012 – Madison Granger, Belchertown High School, and Nora Garrity, Cathedral High School
  • 2011 – Emma Larson, Northampton High & Sarah Wilson, Suffield High
  • 2010 – Leah Haake, Amherst Regional
  • 2009 – Kristen Veit, Holyoke Catholic
  • 2008 – Lauren Litscher, E.L High, and Jeileen Rivera, Springfield Central High
  • 2007 – Carolyn Callaghan, Minnechaug Regiona
  • 2006 – Nicole Potter, Ludlow High
  • 2005 – Rebecca Compton, Longmeadow High, and Casey Kane Monaghan, Holyoke High
  • 2004 – Lucy Sheehan, Longmeadow High, and Amanda Riderle, Amherst Regional
  • 2003 – Kristina Miner, Suffield High
  • 2002 – Heather Wenninger, Chicopee Comp